Saturday, October 1, 2022
HomeJavaScriptThe Ember Occasions - Situation No. 203

The Ember Occasions – Situation No. 203


👋 Emberistas! 🐹

Ember 4.6 Launched 🔥,
Plain Outdated Features as Helpers 😎,
Deprecate Proxies in Ember Knowledge RFC ✨,
Pace Enhancements in Ember Knowledge Checks 🏎,
eslint-plugin-ember 11.0 Launched 🧹,
Ember Addon Roundup 🌐,
Whiskey Internet and Whatnot Episode with NullVoxPopuli 🔊,
Ember Chessboard Movies Half 3 📼,
Migrate ember-data fashions to Octane 📓,
Results in Ember 🙌,
Stop Load Flashing ⚡️


Ember 4.6 was just lately launched!

This launch included a couple of bug fixes for Ember.js, 1 deprecation for Ember CLI, and 9 bug fixes for Ember Knowledge. The discharge additionally consists of 8 deprecations for Ember Knowledge and enhancements to Ember Knowledge’s construct dimension!

Head on over to the 4.6 launch weblog publish and provides it a learn at the moment!


In case you missed it, there is a new publish by Chris Krycho (@chriskrycho) that covers a long-awaited function that was launched just lately in Ember 4.5, plain previous JavaScript capabilities as helpers! 😎

Because the publish signifies, this implies two issues at the moment:

  1. You need to use (certain) strategies in your backing class as helpers straight.
  2. You’ll be able to outline function-based helpers with out importing and utilizing helper().

Additionally, sooner or later, there needs to be even higher assist when the template function lands!


Chris Thoburn (@runspired) additionally just lately opened an RFC that proposes deprecating proxies in Ember Knowledge!

When proxies in Ember Knowledge had been launched Native Proxies didn’t but exist. That is now not the case and the RFC describes how Ember Knowledge could be simplified and enhance efficiency by deprecating them.

Moreover, this will imply Ember Knowledge could be transportable and probably used outdoors of Ember sooner or later! Because the RFC signifies, “Importantly, this simplification will enable for us to handle the efficiency of the most costly prices of managing and presenting knowledge. It would additionally sever one of many final entanglements the core of EmberData has with the Framework. Whereas this RFC doesn’t in itself allow Ember-less utilization of EmberData, it does in impact make this a close to risk.”

Go forward and head on over to the RFC and provides it a learn or depart a remark at the moment!


Chris Thoburn (@runspired) just lately introduced that there are some ✨ important velocity enhancements ✨ coming to assessments that arrange data in Ember Knowledge!

Important as in there are numerous situations which might be 75-90% sooner in Ember Knowledge 4.8 than 4.6. These enhancements, together with different efficiency enhancements, ought to land in Ember Knowledge 4.8. 😎


Bryan Mishkin (@bmish) has launched v11.0.0 of eslint-plugin-ember. Except for housekeeping, there’s higher assist for ESLint v8 and enhancements to the ember/no-array-prototype-extensions rule.

👋 If you need to get entangled with linting and open supply, there are a number of choices for contributing:

  • Even simply tweaking the documentation for a rule or fixing a small bug can have an effect and is all the time appreciated!

Ember Addon Roundup 🌐

We’ve had a number of different addons and libraries throughout the Ember ecosystem launch updates just lately, right here’s what you will have missed:


There’s one other new episode of Whiskey Internet and Whatnot that you simply may need to try and it options NullVoxPopuli (@NullVoxPopuli)! 🔥

Robert Wagner (@rwwagner90) and Chuck Carpenter (@chuckcarpenter) of Ship Form chat with NullVox about NullVox’s journey into Ember, evaluating Ember to React with out angering both facet, why NullVox values Ember sources and has labored to create numerous libraries, what rising tech NullVox is thrilled to be working, and extra!

Take heed to the episode at the moment.


Ilya Radchenko (@knownasilya) launched the third a part of his video sequence that runs by means of constructing an Ember.js chessboard.js app utilizing an thrilling new (alpha) scaffolding library referred to as Have interaction that is authored by Chris Thoburn (@runspired)!

Head on over to YouTube and take a look at half 3!


In case you have not had an opportunity to test it out, you may need to take a look at an excellent useful new weblog publish by Michal Bryxí (@MichalBryxi) about find out how to migrate Ember Knowledge fashions to Octane syntax on condition that codemods do not assist this space of conversion.

Give the publish a learn at the moment!


NullVoxPopuli (@NullVoxPopuli) just lately tweeted about find out how to do Results in Ember! Nullvox says they’re basically they’re perform calls, however with auto-tracking, however with out the necessity to specify a listing of dependencies.


NullVoxPopuli (@NullVoxPopuli) additionally just lately shared a one-line perform, that forestalls loading flashing when refreshing or loading new knowledge. 😎

Checkout the instance at the moment!


This week we might wish to thank Anne-Greeth Schot-van Herwijnen (@MinThaMie), Dan Freeman (@dfreeman), Josh Alexakos (@jalexakos), Bryan Mishkin (@bmish), Edward Faulkner (@ef4), Gregg Martell (@maxwondercorn), @NullVoxPopuli, Ross Baquir (@StreakInTheSky), Vincent Molinié (@VincentMolinie), Ricardo Mendes (@locks), Chad Hietala (@chadhietala), Jan Krutisch (@halfbyte), Jarek Radosz (@CvX), Jen Weber (@jenweber), @ardeliatay, Chris Thoburn (@runspired), Peter Wagenet (@wagenet), Robert Wagner (@rwwagner90), Andrew Knox (@silentkdev), Stanislav Romanov (@kaermorchen), Chris Manson (@mansona), Chris Krycho (@chriskrycho), Jared Galanis (@jaredgalanis), Dean Levinson (@deanylev), Dave Laird (@kiwiupover), Sadeed pv (@Sadeedpv), Ben Hamel (@ben-hamel), Katie Gengler (@kategengler), Kauserali (@aliHafizji), @patricklx, Simon Ihmig (@simonihmig), Kelly Selden (@kellyselden), Kris Selden (@krisselden), Ben Demboski (@bendemboski), @law-rence, Giles Thompson (@gilest), Charles Fries (@charlesfries), and Sergey Astapov (@SergeAstapov) for his or her contributions to Ember and associated repositories! 💖


Office Hours Tomster Mascot

Questioning about one thing associated to Ember, Ember Knowledge, Glimmer, or addons within the Ember ecosystem, however do not know the place to ask? Readers’ Questions are only for you!

Submit your personal quick and candy query beneath bit.ly/ask-ember-core. And don’t fear, there are not any foolish questions, we respect all of them – promise! 🤞

Wish to write for the Ember Occasions? Have a suggestion for subsequent week’s challenge? Be part of us at #support-ember-times on the Ember Neighborhood Discord or ping us @embertimes on Twitter.

Carry on high of what is been occurring in Emberland this week by subscribing to our e-mail publication! You can even discover our posts on the Ember weblog. See you in two weeks!


That is one other wrap! ✨

Be sort,

Jared Galanis, Bryan Mishkin, the gang and the Studying Crew



RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments